Orpington chick colors?

Apr 10, 2024
I have all my colors penned together right now, I keep hearing about mottled and splash orpingtons. I’m still learning genetics and colors.
How do you get mottled or splash orpingtons?
I have blue/black/lavender/chocolate/ and one jubilee hen mixed.

Attachments

• IMG_2408.jpeg
    IMG_2408.jpeg
    591.7 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_2409.jpeg
    IMG_2409.jpeg
    471.6 KB · Views: 8
  • IMG_2405.jpeg
    IMG_2405.jpeg
    740.2 KB · Views: 8
I have all my colors penned together right now, I keep hearing about mottled and splash orpingtons. I’m still learning genetics and colors.
I have blue/black/lavender/chocolate/ and one jubilee hen mixed.

With the colors you have:

--to get splash, cross two blues. About 1/4 of the chicks will be splash.

--to get mottled, hatch eggs from the Jubilee hen with any of the roosters, then pick a son and breed him back to her. Some of the chicks will be black with white mottling. Some others will be Jubilee. Some will be solid black (no mottling), and others will be like Jubilee but without the white dots. Those four groups should be about equal in numbers. Depending on what other rooster was involved at the first stage, you may also get some where their black parts are turned to blue or chocolate.

Most of your chickens have the genes to be black all over (exception: the Jubilee), but then some have the blue gene turning them blue, some have the lavender gene turning them lavender, some have the chocolate gene turning them chocolate, some may be carrying the lavender gene or the chocolate gene or both, and if you don't already have birds that show mixes of those traits you probably will in another one or two generations. This is not a problem, just a comment to help explain what is going on genetically in your flock.

With the colors you have:
:thumbsup

I’m still learning genetics and colors.
I'll answer differently.