Pip but no movement - shrink wrapped?

Pics

OneFowlMama

Chirping
Sep 24, 2019
Australia
I woke up this morning to see a pip in one of my eggs, super exciting! It looks as though it's the bubs elbow slightly sticking out of the pip hole.

It's been a few hours with no movement or peeps to be heard, the humidity was at a steady 70% so I left it be. I came back inside around an hour or so later and it had dropped to 55%, I quickly added water and it's sitting around 60-65% now. I might add a touch more in a minute to try and boost it back up a bit.

Its still in the same position with no movement or peeps, did this drastic drop in humidity shrink wrap my bub? This is my first time incubating and I'm so worried! My other 5 eggs have yet to make any pips, so I'm just sitting here waiting for a sign from any of them that they're okay. Any advice would be really appreciated! Pic attached is of the pipped bub in question.

Attachments

• 15710138263231806670511.jpg
    15710138263231806670511.jpg
    203.2 KB · Views: 180
I'm glad someone agrees with me, as a hatching newbie I thought I might be talking out of my a**. It's great to hear someone else shares the opinion that being hands on in regards to the hatching process is good.

Is there any chance that the next time you go to top the water up etc, you could quickly candle an egg or two? That is what I would personally do, making sure to put the lid right back on while you are doing the candling. That way you will know what stage your chicks are at, so you can time when you assist the hatch (if you choose to do that of course).