aart

Chicken Juggler!
Premium Feather Member
11 Years
Nov 27, 2012
SW Michigan
My Coop
My Coop
There have been several discussions during the past couple weeks in multiple threads in multiple sub forums about using a people heating pad to simulate the Brinsea or Premier brooder heater. I was able to fashion this one and thought I'd put it in it's own thread for ease of updating this particular design idea.

I really like the idea of the heater plates because of the 'natural' day/night cycles and the lower power cost. I've read folks saying that the chicks are quieter under a plate than a light and so far, I couldn't agree more. It's a great concept but I can absolutely not justify the expense of the Brinsea or even the Premier when I probably will never hatch chicks again.....the 2 hatches I've done have been with a borrowed incubator. Plus I am a designer by nature and trade, working in the pharmaceutical equipment design field for 20 years. I love to solve problems by building 'stuff'.

Now this device has only been in use for a mere 36 hours, but I think it's going to work out fine. I will continue to update this thread to report any pros and cons or changes needed. The only con I've found so far is you don't get to see them sprawled out or tip over asleep like you do under a light...cause like most babies, they're cutest when they're sleeping. They all come out to eat, drink and run around, then dash back underneath to warm up and/or sleep.