Raising chickens against zoning laws!

MyLifeInAnEggshell

Chirping
12 Years
Sep 19, 2011
Buckeye, AZ
So to start this off I'm brand new to chickens, we have always wanted them but it took my husband to start gardening to finally convince him we could do chickens.
We only wanted about 4 hens no roosters. I live in a community in AZ and in the HOA manual it says livestock in backyard is permitted in more words or less.
So my husband asked me to call the town chamber to make sure it was ok with them. We already started our coop (out of the bottom half of my kids swing set and back bench area its really cool
big_smile.png
). So after calling them I find out that because we are under and acre we can't do any poultry at all. I was heart broken. After a long talk with my husband and talking to the only two neighbors that have a view of my backyard (behind us is a huge crop) we decided to do it anyways! So after a couple of weeks we now have 8 chickens in hopes of getting 4 hens. 2 Delaware, 1 RIR, and 6 Silver Laced Wyandotte's. We already have someone to take our extra hens and or roos so we are all set. Both of my neighbors were thrilled with the idea one would love to have their kids come over and check it out. The other told me to get as many as I wanted roosters are fine too lol. They both loved the idea of fresh eggs every now and then too!
So I would never tell anyone to do this but we decided it was worth the risk and so far we are having a lot of fun with our little chicks. We can't wait to see what the next few month will bring.

Does anyone have any advice for us?

This is our group of SLW and RIR hope our RIR is a pullet as well as at least one of our SLW!
107145_chicks.jpg

Our two Delaware girls!
107145_chicks2.jpg

Does anyone have any advice for us?

Thanks for reading this and I would love to hear anyone else story and outcome!