Ready to spend the night outside?

Schfam

Chirping
Jun 16, 2022
Hi Everyone! I have 3 Pekin ducklings, one is almost 6 weeks old and the other 2 will be 4 weeks old tomorrow. This is my first time raising ducklings. I know without being sufficiently feathered they should’ve be outside below 50 degrees? I want to post a few pictures of them and see if anyone with more experience than myself can guide me concerning how close they are to being able to stay outside. Nighttime temperatures this week will range from 42-53 degrees. They’ve been outside for the day and we bring them in at night, but they are quickly outgrowing the indoor space. Always appreciate your help! Thank you!!!
@miss_lydia
🩷

Attachments

• IMG_2583.jpeg
    IMG_2583.jpeg
    837.8 KB · Views: 90
Me personally I would keep the little fuzzheads above 60 degrees at 4 weeks old
I count back 5 degrees a week starting at 85 degrees
when they are only 4 weeks old its 65 degrees they still need
Once they are 7 weeks old they are full feathered
I know some here disagree I tend to lean on cautious side, why risk it

What would they be in at night? Does it have fluffy warm hay/straw to bed down in? Is next weeks weather supposed to be better or worse for you?

I bought a remote thermometer from Walmart and put the probe in their coop. That way, I can check the temperature in their coop from in the house. It mostly just gives me peace of mind, knowing that it is much warmer in their coop than the outside air temperature.

Btw, I just put my little one outside at night and he was 8 1/2 weeks old. I agree with Jenbirdee and lean cautious too.

Last edited: