Reducing feed cost

KlinoClucks

Songster
Mar 27, 2019
Hi fellow chicken lovers!

I am from Australia and there might be some Aussies out there who can give me advice. I have been keeping chickens for five years now, with my flock increasing over this time. The cost of keeping the chickens was not a big deal, as it was a small hobby, but the last two summers proved trying in keeping their hunger at bay! I have started on small scale these past two summers to raise chicks that was hatched under broody chooks to point of lay, and then selling them, but recently counted up the food cost to be around $295 per month during these seasons. Then I started researching on how to lower feed bill costs, and tried the fermenting method, started with mealworms, and scraps. It hasn’t brought down the costs at all. I put apple cider vinegar in their water, and when I can I make a porridge with bran and add cayenne pepper with a bunch of other herbs. If anyone has any tips at all, it would be highly appreciated. I have about 20 laying girls and I’m currently raising 30 pullets to point of lay.

I have also been battling severely with red mites and leg mites for two years now, and I’ve tried chemical and natural treatments and have had them on once a week treatment schedules, but the mites stay just where they are! I’m getting a bit discouraged and once again advice would be highly appreciated!

Thanks

Try getting free food...

Breweries sometimes give away the spent grains that they use to brew... call around.

Also any place that sells food.. call around for the spoiled stuff. Usually "unfit to sell at the store" just means a few wilted leaves. Pick through it of course to make sure it is good, anything really off can go into the compost.

Sadly... I have found leg mites tenacious buggers. And with so many hens you might want to smack your head against the wall....