Spraddle legged?!?Please help!

Jrd7788

Songster
Oct 27, 2018
I had a couple pigeons hatch 2 weeks or so ago and they’re just getting old enough to start trying to fly and jumping out of the nests. I came in this evening and noticed one baby on the floor in a little huddle, with its sibling by it. The sibling tried to get away from me and was lively, but the other one was just huddled there, and when he/she tried to get away it couldn’t walk well on the pads of its feet and was walking on the back of its legs. Everything I’ve looked up says spraddle leg. How would you fix that in a young pigeon? I’ve only seen remedies for chicks but I assume it’s different. Also, would I have to separate and feed it separately, and if so how would you do that because they need milk/ what their parents make for them. I’m new to pigeons so please be nice lol. Another thing, this morning the baby in question was perfectly fine, and now its neck is stripped of feathers and raw and bloody. Would that have any relation to its feet which were also fine this morning? And if so any ideas what caused these injuries. Pictures will be attached. TIA

Last edited:
Spraddle leg in pigeons is treated same as in chicks. I am confused however, because this condition does not happen overnight and you said the feel were fine the previous day? Also the picture doesn't show me a definite spraddle leg. Could be, but I'm not sure.

The wound I would guess is an attack by another adult cockbird in your loft.

When I had vulnerable youngsters like these I have protected them by moving the nest into a cage leaving the door open for the parents to go in to feed their babies but the babies couldnt get out and other birds were not inclined to enter the cage. As the babies grew they began to come out but would run back to safety if bullied. It really doesn't take them too long to figure out their place in the flock.

If you don't have a cage use a cardboard box to make a safe nest box.