The Right to Grow and Raise Your Own Food

Pics

MichAttorney

In the Brooder
7 Years
May 9, 2012
I was reading the thread in this section on the challenge in Canada on the "Right to Food." Of course, being an attorney, I was intrigued by that thought and wondered what case law there might be in the United States on that concept (after all, the U.S. and Canada do share a common law tradition. Certainly, I knew of some of the fundamental rights that have been recognized by the Supreme Court, including the right to travel, the right to marry, the right to privacy, etc. I knew of some cases that I had studied a while back dealing with the rights to enjoy the common occupations of life. I had not really done a lot of research into the whole notion of - what about the right to food, or the right to grow your own food.

The reason that I want to start looking into this is because in this part of the forum, the title of the forum appears to assume that the locality has the right to zone how it will. The focus is on changing the ordinance (which may not be a bad way to go about it).

For the Michigan crowd, we have the Michigan Right to Farm Act which preempts all zoning ordinances that would seek to affect commercial farming operations, and the issue there is how do the citizens of the good state of Michigan enforce their rights under the Right to Farm Act.

But, as I got to thinking about the issue, it is much more fundamental than that.