Too many roosters....

CPT

Songster
Sep 19, 2017
Star, Idaho
Hi!

We used to have about about 12 hens, now we are down to 9, as four of them have been MIA. I found two of them recently (one in the haybarn with its feathers torn off, possible by a cat) and the other by a hawk. The others I just don't know :( I have four roosters and 9 hens. Two of the roosters I want to keep (they are a little bit older) but we'll have to figure out what to do with the other 2 roos, as they are 6 months old and hormonal teenagers! I just witnessed one hen yesterday getting assaulted by three roos! Ack! ~ ~ I'll have to do some quarantine. What has anybody used for quarantine? Dog house? Dog Kennel? I'm not very handy (building a separate tractor, coop, etc) All of our chickens free range around the property during the day.

Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks!!

Last edited:
I have a bachelor pad that keeps the 13 roosters/cockerels that I have away from my hens and only keep two full grown roosters in with my 40+ girls. They are much happier that way. If there is excessive fighting or a bully in the bachelor pad, I cull the bully. Right now I have a 2 year old rooster in there that breaks up fights and keeps order. I would put all your boys in a bachelor pad and see what happens.

Hi!

We used to have about about 12 hens, now we are down to 9, as four of them have been MIA. I found two of them recently (one in the haybarn with its feathers torn off, possible by a cat) and the other by a hawk. The others I just don't know :( I have four roosters and 9 hens. Two of the roosters I want to keep but we'll have to figure out what to do with the other ones. I just witnessed one hen yesterday getting assaulted by three roos! Ack! ~ ~ I'll have to do some quarantine. What has anybody used for quarantine? Dog house? Dog Kennel? I'm not very handy (building a separate tractor, coop, etc) All of our chickens free range around the property during the day.