tuf chicken/how to cook

1 old hen

In the Brooder
6 Years
Nov 4, 2013
What is the secret to cooking farm raized chickens and making them tender? When I cook mine they seem tuf and dry. I have tried baking, frying and roasting. Do I need to marinade or what to make them tender? Thankes 1 old hen

Im no expert, but in my short experience cooking them in broth in the crock pot is ok, some are still tough though, and canning them works well too....however because they are old and egg layers you sometimes just have tough birds =S

There are really only 2 ways to cook them, Hot and fast or low and slow. We skin and cut up most of the birds we process to save freezer space and skinning is much faster than plucking. The breast fillets you can cook on the grill using the hot and fast method, just a few minutes on each side so they cook through but don't over cook or they will dry out and get tough. On younger birds you can debone the thighs and cook the same way but older birds the thighs will be chewy. When I cook leg quarters or whole birds on the grill I put them in a pan with a raised rack and cook uncovered until I get the smoke I want on them then add water, cover with foil and slow cook until the meat falls off the bone. A super fast way to cook them is in a pressure cooker 15 minutes at 15 pounds and the meat falls off the bones plus you get a bunch a good chicken stock. We cook a full pot using the pressure cooker then bag and freeze the meat. You can use that meat for taco's or casseroles.

I did my last Roo in broth, on a simmer, for about three hours. Then I shredded the meat, and we had tacos. It was fantastic way better then our last three. Any chicken or beef broth, with a little garlic and salt. Super easy.

I think a brine is the best way to go, especially with Rooster.