Turkey with swelling all over=head, neck, breast....

Pics

Gwenieloveschickies

In the Brooder
May 13, 2020
Missouri
Hi! I'm new to owning turkeys as they were given to us in December. We have 2 extremely friendly female turkeys, Millie and Tillie. 4 weeks ago, Milley, was injured with a hurt leg and wing. She was unable to bear weight on the leg, so 3-4 times a day, I would carry her out of the chicken coop, to shade with food and water directly in front of her. etc. I did a little rehab with her, helping her bear weight on the bad leg and learning to balance again as she also came to us with two bad, bent toes. Fast forward to now, she is able to bear weight, stand, and walk around 5-6 feet slowly. She has been mending well and eating/drinking fine until Friday night when my husband and I went to put up the chickens, we noticed she is extremely swollen. It came on fast, as I was out in the afternoon. She has swelling on top of her head, rising about 1/2 inch high, a swollen neck, and when I went to pick her up, her breast is swollen as well. She feels like a balloon on her breast. She is still making subtle vocalizations. She has no snot, no coughing, no wheezing. We have isolated her where she is safe, away from the flock, but she is able to see the flock pass by the barn. We have cleaned the coop. Any advice would be appreciated as I am new to owning these sweet birds.

Yes, here is her head and neck.

Attachments

• A9E1A6B3-C0EA-45B0-85B8-D7753961167B.jpeg
    A9E1A6B3-C0EA-45B0-85B8-D7753961167B.jpeg
    266.7 KB · Views: 30