what do you think dominuqe or br

DanEP

Crowing
12 Years
May 15, 2010
Cadiz Ky
I had to try out my eco 20 that I bought in oct soI got a few eggs from a coworker. I got lucky enough to hatch 8 out of 11 and their doing well.
Now this fellow I got my eggs from said he had a dominuque roo and one hen and the rest were rir hens. I know that I'm pretty new at this but don't dom's have a rose comb. I kinda expected at least some of these little guys to at least have the signs of the rose comb or does that develop latter? I'm just guessing but kinda suspect maybe some br mixed in there instead.I would really like to hear the thoughts of somebody thats a whole lot smarter than me on this please.
I'll try and post some pics of the chicks and would love to hear some guesses on gender.

t
57634_mutts_6_wks_011.jpg
ha
57634_mutts_6_wks_012.jpg
tt
57634_mutts_6_wks_014.jpg
p
57634_mutts_6_wks_018.jpg
hmm.png
/www.backyardchickens.com/forum/uploads/57634_mutts_6_wks_009.jpg[/img]nks dan

Last edited:
hard to tell, he only has 1 dominique hen?
No, the rose comb will not appear later. If the RIR's hens are tha mothers, then they can inherit the single comb gene, if thats what they are, however, I do not believe they would be barred.
the last one I think is a girl. the rest are boys I am pretty sure.

Looks more like Barred Rocks than Dominique. I don't know this person, but some people will call any barred/cuckoo chicken a Dominique not really knowing the difference.
Quote:
But you could get a modified comb type. Not sure what it would look like exactly. The color combination would throw barred, red, and red with barring or barring with red (I think it might be called gold) leakage.
First one is definitely a rooster and the other three look like they might be pullets.