When are chicks fully grown?

lilifluff

In the Brooder
Jun 9, 2016
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I was wondering if anyone could enlighten me on when chicks stop growing? I have two 8 week old Brahmas chicks, they haven't really grown for a couple of weeks, a friend of mine says they won't get any bigger. I was wondering what other people think?

I'm no expert, but aren't Brahmas known for been a slow-growing breed? I'd say more generally that growth continues until at least 6 months, and pullets seem to begin to become more rounded (i.e. seem to add a little weight, but don't grow taller) after that.

I'm no expert, but aren't Brahmas known for been a slow-growing breed? I'd say more generally that growth continues until at least 6 months, and pullets seem to begin to become more rounded (i.e. seem to add a little weight, but don't grow taller) after that.
X2

8 weeks? They have a LONG way to go! not even close to full grown.
My 3 Light Brahma x EE/Ameraucana mix pullets kept growing until about 20 weeks. They are a good bit bigger than my two BR hens.
Pullets just started laying at 24 weeks.

Thanks for your advice guys, I thought they might still have some growing left to do yet! It's just they have been the same size for sometime now.
sad.png
perhaps my friend is wrong then?

Thanks for your advice guys, I thought they might still have some growing left to do yet! It's just they have been the same size for sometime now.
sad.png
perhaps my friend is wrong then?
Yes, they are wrong.....just wait another couple months and you can prove it to them.
Chickens are pretty much full sized by around 6 months when they start to lay,
but they will fill out a bit more and be truly 'full grown' at about 18 months.
Tho older non hens can get quite fat depending on diet, environment, and breed.
Brahmas are slower growing than some other breeds and can get quite large.