1 Bielfelders pullet has a crest?

Fluster Cluck Acres

Crowing
Premium Feather Member
Mar 26, 2020
Frederick, MD
I got 4 Bielfelders pullets from the bargain bin at a TSC in mid-August (3 wks ago). I was told they were “older” but I don’t think they were much- a week maybe, if even that. This is my first time with this breed. Anyway, 3 of them are beginning to develop the beautiful white speckles on the tips of the feathers, almost rosy coloration on their breast feathers. One is larger and has more grey and less white on the tops of the feathers. It also has a crest.

So, can Bielfelders have crests? Or do I have an Oliver Egger, or a Bielfelder cross?

Here is my crested one without any speckled on her chest. They are approx. 4 weeks old.
IMG_1563.jpeg

IMG_1550.jpeg
IMG_1554.jpeg

Here is a side-by-side aerial view of the crested chick (left) beside one that looks more like what I expect a Bielfelder to look like. Notice the lack of patterning on the crested chick. Also her hackle feathers are a different color.
IMG_1545.jpeg

Here is a pic of all 4 of them. (They’re the larger chicks- the others are 3-week old BYMs). The chick at the top of the photo is the crested one.
IMG_1535.jpeg

So, can Bielfelders have crests?
Bielefelders are not supposed to have crests.
A mating of two non-crested birds should never produce a crested chick, so a crested chick should never happen from a pure Bielefelder flock.

I think your chick cannot be a pure Bielefelder.

I think it could be an Olive Egger, or possibly a Cream Legbar (I don't know them well enough to tell if that chick's coloring is acceptable for a Cream Legbar, or if it is somehow wrong.)

Bielefelders are not supposed to have crests.
A mating of two non-crested birds should never produce a crested chick, so a crested chick should never happen from a pure Bielefelder flock.

I think your chick cannot be a pure Bielefelder.