3 week old rhode island reds

kimbroad

In the Brooder
Oct 17, 2019
Hi everyone,

I am new to raising chickens and have had my 3 rhode island red girls in the brooder for just over 3 weeks. I've just got their coop and set it up in the garage which is currently at a temp of around 18c/65f. I have set them up with a heat lamp hanging from the ceiling and hot water bottle and they seem really happy in their new coop.

I'm just worried they will be too cold as they haven't got all their feathers yet. If I keep the heat lamp on them in the garage (it has no door so wind will come in). In your opinion will they be ok? Or shall I return them to the brooder?

Thanks for your help!
Kim

Hi everyone,

I am new to raising chickens and have had my 3 rhode island red girls in the brooder for just over 3 weeks. I've just got their coop and set it up in the garage which is currently at a temp of around 18c/65f. I have set them up with a heat lamp hanging from the ceiling and hot water bottle and they seem really happy in their new coop.

I'm just worried they will be too cold as they haven't got all their feathers yet. If I keep the heat lamp on them in the garage (it has no door so wind will come in). In your opinion will they be ok? Or shall I return them to the brooder?

Thanks for your help!
Kim
3 weeks is too young. I don't move mine out until at least 8-9wks. At that time, I start weaning them off the chick starter/grower, & switch them to a balanced grain diet with treats in between.