Another round of "Hen or Roo?" and "What breed?"

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by horsethrill, Aug 9, 2016.

1. horsethrill

horsethrill New Egg

Aug 8, 2016
    Hello! This is my first time posting on this forum. I love this website and have found many good ideas and tips from everyone. Anyway, I'm very new to the whole chicken thing. I have a co-worker that has 30+ chickens so I've been getting a lot of tips from him. These chickens were given to us by someone who had way to many. We asked for 8 and ended up with 15. They have adjusted well and are loving farm life.

In the beginning, I thought these were hens because they didn't have combs or a waddle. I know they are some sort of feather-legged bantam but what breed I am unsure. All the chickens are over 6 months of age. I couldn't tell you exactly how old they all are though.
    [​IMG]

This one I am sure is a hen but as reference, the two above and this one all looked the same in the beginning. That's why I think the two above are roo's.
    [​IMG]
    This little guy is definitely a roo. But what breed? Anyone know? It's possible that he's a mutt of some sort.
    [​IMG]

I originally thought this guy was the roo version of the first two. Now, I'm not so sure.
    [​IMG]

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. Puddin Fluff

Puddin Fluff Overrun With Chickens

Mar 30, 2012
    River Valley, AR
    All but the white I would say are Cochins or a mix of cochin. I also believe that you are correct on gender.

Welcome to BYC.

Most folks recommend about a 1 to 4 (or 5) ratio of boys to girls so you may consider how your boys are treating each other and the ladies. :)

Good luck with your new adventure. You have already experienced chicken math. :)

1 person likes this.
  3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture