Anyone expecting an order from Murray McMurray hatchery "Special Assortment" for October?

PeuAPeu

Chirping
7 Years
Mar 30, 2012
Alabama
Mine are supposed to be sent out today. They gave me an expected delivery period of Thursda-Saturday. They do not send e-mail notices for their Fall deliveries, which I find disappointing. I am getting the "Special Assorted Bargain" along with 4 SLW and 4 BO hens. Has anyone else ordered this assortment at this time of year and what did you end up getting? Since not all breeds are available this time of year, I wonder if I will be limited to my variety or do they just hatch them on a smaller scale. I want some good layers, but I wouldn't mind some unusual or rare kinds in there too. I hope this is a good experience as it is my first time ordering from a hatchery. Last year I got mine from a feed and seed store and had very good luck. They all were healthy and I ended up picking 10 girls. Unfortunately they were wipe out by my dogs as they were free-raging. I have one hen left that I raised from chick stage. She is a Black Jersey Giant and has been laying about a month and a half. Still small eggs but I will take it. I was also given a BO hen and roo from a lady who's flock also was wiped out from predators. She just didn't want the chicken anymore. I love the BO hen as she is friendly and lays a darn good jumbo egg. She has established herself as the head hen. I also recently bought 3 blue cochins, 1 black cochin and 2 light brahma hens And I also have three bantams, one ld English roo and two hens of which I do not know the breed. I think after I get this variety group established, I may decide on a seoerate pen or a couple of sepeprate pens and focus on a particular breed. Right now I am getting the feel of the different breeds. I hope to post a picture when I get my babies and maybe we can guess what kind they are.