Becoming very overwhelmed lately with the farm...

dracoe19

Songster
8 Years
May 31, 2011
Warrenton, Virgina
Not many people at school understand what I am going through so I thought I would ramble on here. Right now I am a full time student in Ohio while my parents and farm are in Virginia. I have seriously started dealing with poultry and have been "getting my ducks in a row". I have a page on Facebook which many people have contacted me about wanting chickens. I have been trying to manage getting poultry ready from Ohio but have been failing miserably lately... I have been trying to send a silver laced rooster to someone for over 8 weeks now with constant tie ups on my end. I had figured once I get home on winter break I can deal with everything. I cleaned every coop, I dusted the whole flock twice for lice (which was brought in on birds we purchased from some one will will NOT be buying from again), wormed everyone, watched/ studied everyone, took a bird inside at the slightest sniffle and rearranged the flock. I had felt like I had accomplished so much and made life a lot easier on my dear parents. Once I leave a rooster dies of a mysterious illness that wouldn't go away from antibiotics. Of course it had to be a bird some one bought from us. I had seen the bird myself and handed it to him and he had been 100%. I had no idea what he got and where he got it from. The bird wasn't quarantined when he introduced him (which should have been done regardless) so I have no idea where the sickness originated from. One of my favorite hens died 2.5 weeks later from what I think was old age but honestly I have no idea. The whole flock is under "lock down" now. Then on top of that one of my best roosters has been inside with the sniffles for over a week. It has been one thing after another with him... he was living with the bought birds (mentioned above) which I had discovered had, on top of lice, worms and contracted coccidious. THEN one of my other roosters slipped out o