CarmineStreet

Chirping
Mar 29, 2021
Hi! I'm new to chickening and to this community. And I'm glad to be here. 😊

To the BA and RIR eggsperts here, could you tell me if any of these nearly 4-wk old chicks are pure BAs? I'm asking because I'm doubting that the breeder sold me pure BAs. Seeing brown or gold gold features/spots on some of the chicks, and knowing the breeder also sells RIRs, make me think I might have more crosses than pure BAs, if at all.

Can you also tell if they're hen or roo?

My plan WAS to raise BAs for their eggs for our own consumption at home. I also planned to try to breed them on an experimental basis. (I've bred Silkies.)

I know any mixed hens will lay lots of eggs. I'll keep them but then I wouldn't breed them. I especially wouldn't keep even a single mixed rooster because he also can't breed.

To summarize my questions:
1) Which ones are pure BAs? Mixed? (some are obvious)
2) Hen or roo?
3) What would you do?

Photos of 9 chicks are attached.

Thanks in advance! This will be much appreciated. 🙏🙏🙏

Attachments

• A.jpg
    A.jpg
    803.9 KB · Views: 124
  • B.jpg
    B.jpg
    850.9 KB · Views: 61
  • C.jpg
    C.jpg
    776.4 KB · Views: 57
  • D.jpg
    D.jpg
    729.5 KB · Views: 57
  • E.jpg
    E.jpg
    827.7 KB · Views: 58
  • F.jpg
    F.jpg
    1,004.9 KB · Views: 60
  • G.jpg
    G.jpg
    669.3 KB · Views: 57
  • H.jpg
    H.jpg
    728.1 KB · Views: 50
  • I.jpg
    I.jpg
    775.3 KB · Views: 60
I see your concerns!

F&G are definitely NOT BA. Other colors are present.

A BA has a straight comb, slate legs, pinky/flesh colored feet bottoms, Red earlobes. As chicks they will have some white, but will be mostly black. No other colors in fluff or feathers.