1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Bloody stool

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by wallace707, Aug 10, 2015.

1. wallace707

wallace707 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 10, 2015
    Hi! I'm new to chickens, we just got 6 from someone a couple days ago. They are 3 and 5 week old silkies. Started feeding them the starter grow food. All poops looked normal to me then the next day some were bloody.... Not sure if they are ALL like that but I'm not seeing many normal looking ones now. Lady I got them from said she kept two from same pen and they are fine. Also thought I heard what sounded like a sneeze a few times. They are staying in a cattle trough in our enclosed garage. There are two ceiling fans in there as well, wasn't sure if that would bother them being on too. I assume I need to get a dewormed? Thanks for any help!

2. Harleychicks

Harleychicks Out Of The Brooder

Jun 18, 2015
    Poplarville, Mississippi
    I'm just an amateur but coccida may be the problem. At Tractor Supply or similar store look for corid you put it the water. We lost 1/2 our flock to this. went from 29 to 15 in about 2 weeks. Good luck with your babies!

3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Water Under the Bridge Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

4. wallace707

Aug 10, 2015
    I went to tractor supply and the only corid they had was for vows and WAY more than I would need. No dosing for chickens. I did get some electrolyte powder and probiotic....and no other feed stores close by

5. enola

enola Overrun With Chickens

Corid is marketed for cattle. Corid will also treat chickens.

Electrolytes and probiotics will not treat coccidia. You wil have to buy the Corid to kill the cocci protozoa.

6. wallace707

Aug 10, 2015