Buying Chickens and prices

thechickenfarm

Hatching
12 Years
Jan 24, 2008
Im a first time buyer and i was wondering what breed of chickens i should go with, I want to have 7 to 10 hens and one or 2 roosters. I want to sell the chicks at the local livestock market which breed will sell for the most?

You can fetch about $15 for a purebreed hen at point of lay (POL). Maybe $20-$25 if they're exotic.

I get around $8-$10 for my surplus roosters at 8-10 weeks of age at auction.

Ones you like!
wink.png

Chickens can be quite a bit of work-if you don't like them, it will really seem like work.

So, that being said, what qualities/colors/patterns/egg color do you prefer? Do you like feathered feet or clean legged? Do you like beards and a muff, or a clean faced bird?

well its my first time and honestly i dont know what kind i like but i have always wanted to raise chickens and my new house had a chicken coop that came with it so i thought it would be the perfect opportunity

Might I suggest, http://www.feathersite.com/Poultry/BRKPoultryPage.html#Chickens . They have LOTS of breeds with pictures so you can get an idea of what's out there. Find a few you like the looks of and come back to ask your questions about a specifice breed. It's a lot easier than just asking what breed-it's different for everyone, and everyon has their favorites-though they might not be right for someone else.

That being said, my favorite breeds include cochins, Ameraucanas/Easter Eggers, and silkies

Last edited:
It will depend on your local market and demand. One member on here located in Colorado gets $8 for I believe 7-8 week old pullets. Cockerals would be significantly less.

would you recommend those breeds in northern california? are they good egg layers and do they hatch most of there eggs?