Chicken got attacked - cut on chest area and has green pus

ebl081

In the Brooder
Jun 14, 2020
We're not sure what got to this chicken but she got a nasty cut on her chest area yesterday morning, we think it was maybe a dog. There was minimal bleeding and we cleaned it out best we could and applied neosporin to it. It is tough to see how big the wound actually is because of the feathers. We have her isolated in a box in our home with food and water and she seems to be drinking and eating. However, I just checked her today and there is some green pus around the wound. Unfortunately a vet is not an option for us. She is a 5 month old Golden Laced Wyandote.

These are the best I could get

IMG_1781.jpg
IMG_1785.jpg

I'd advise cutting off feathers around area, feathers make it warmer... better environment for bacteria. I am no chicken doctor but I'd clean the wound, cut off feathers, see size of wound. If large, stitch and apply more anti bacterials. Probably infected if pus.... chicken antibiotics?

I used some anti-bacterial wipes and an epsom salt bath - that is really all I had on hand and I read that online. We dried her off really well with paper towels. I don't have any chicken antibiotics but if that is something that can be bought at a local store then that is possible for us to get

We're not sure what got to this chicken but she got a nasty cut on her chest area yesterday morning, we think it was maybe a dog. There was minimal bleeding and we cleaned it out best we could and applied neosporin to it. It is tough to see how big the wound actually is because of the feathers. We have her isolated in a box in our home with food and water and she seems to be drinking and eating. However, I just checked her today and there is some green pus around the wound. Unfortunately a vet is not an option for us. She is a 5 month old Golden Laced Wyandote.