Ducklings and broody mom question?

nao57

Crowing
Mar 28, 2020
So I wanted to get some input on this because its not something I've done before. Thank you ahead of time. Many of you are talented with agriculture and gardening. I'm just a student.

So...

My drake is sterile. Not sure how this happened. But he does still love the ladies. But his eggs always won't hatch. I've tried this many times. One of the hens really wants to be a mom and has been broody for awhile. She's been a few weeks trying to hatch a pile of eggs. But I already know the eggs are sterile. So I'm worried about how long she'll continue before she realizes that.

So... I'm wondering if its possible to just slip in some ducklings from a store or ordered from say Metzer farms or one of these other farms and just put them in her nest? Wouldn't this work if she's still broody? But also even if it does work, what's the best way to do it without her realizing they aren't hers? Or will it matter?

I also have to move her nest somehow so the drake doesn't get her babies... and I might just have to take him to be given away at that time.... but either way, I have an understanding that the more I disturb the harder it will be for the hen to not react or be disturbed away from being broody also. So that's why I thought I'd ask.

So... I'm wondering if its possible to just slip in some ducklings from a store or ordered from say Metzer farms or one of these other farms and just put them in her nest? Wouldn't this work if she's still broody?
Yes. The younger the ducklings, the better. Try to get ducklings no older than 4 days old.
Wouldn't this work if she's still broody? But also even if it does work, what's the best way to do it without her realizing they aren't hers?
Well after full dark, go out to her nest and remove the eggs then slip the ducklings under her. Be out there first thing before dawn to supervise.
I also have to move her nest somehow so the drake doesn't get her babies