DUCKS STOPPED LAYING

Molnut

Songster
Oct 1, 2015
Port Angeles, WA
I'm new to ducks and need some advice.
I have taken over the care of 22 ducks, still figuring how many males and females.
They have the run of a huge garden and are closed in at night in a barn, where they lay their eggs as well (or so I think).
Before I took over, the eggs were not picked up and were piling up in two corners of the barn.
The barn has been since then cleaned up with new straw.
Every day I fluff/turn up the straw and clean their drinking water (in the barn). They eat in the barn before going to bed.
It has been a week and so far, and have only had 6 eggs.
They are fed gamebird crumbles at 27% protein and have oyster shells on demand.
What am I doing wrong?
Thanks

Is it just me, or is that waaaaaaaaaaay to much protein? I give my birds 16% layer feed and they give me about an egg a day.
Are they all old enough to lay? How many girls are there? Boys obviously dont lay eggs...What breed are they? Breed has a say in how many eggs you actually get. How much light do they get? Birds will stop laying in winter because they are getting less light, which they correctly interpret as too cold weather for laying and hatching ducklings( they cant figure out that we are takin the eggs away-_-) and their reproductive system shuts down

Female ducks quack loudly, the drakes have a quieter raspy quack the sounds more like whaaap-whaaap-whaaap... pics might help us to identify ducks from drakes as well...

They might be hiding their eggs or could be from shorter daylight hours... and age...

And I agree, 27% protein is a bit high... highest I feed is 20%, Purina Flock Raiser...

Thanks for the responses. I have chickens, but I'm new to ducks.

They are runners, Rouens and kakkis ducks and some mixed offsprings.

I did think the protein level was rather high, but again I'm new....The ducks' owner has been feeding them this gamebird diet for a while. Could too much protein affect the laying?