EE brown egg-how common is it?

garlandchickens

Songster
Aug 27, 2020
North Texas
Hello! I have a 6 month old EE who just started laying. At least, we think. The shape of her eggs are a bit different from the other girls so we’re pretty sure. Anyway, she is laying brown eggs, and of course with her being an EE we were hoping for blue or green. It doesn’t really matter, but can someone tell me the likelihood of an EE laying brown? I have very little genetic knowledge! Side note- I don’t know her parentage.

can someone tell me the likelihood of an EE laying brown? I have very little genetic knowledge! Side note- I don’t know her parentage.

Not without knowing her parentage and their genetics. We can't even all agree on a definition for EE. It can mean different things to different people.

They are a mixed breed with Americauna or Aracauna lineage.

Not really. If this link works you'll see that it is the other way around. The Araucana and Ameraucana were developed from the original colored egg layers (EE's ?) from Chile. Some hatcheries had their original colored egg laying flocks before the Ameraucana breed was developed in the 1970's. That EE's were developed from Araucana or Ameraucana is commonly repeated on here but it isn't really correct. EE's can be developed from these two breeds but they don't have to be and often aren't.

http://ameraucana.org/DnLd/Early History by Richard Orr.pdf

Absolutley......All but two of my EE lay blue or green eggs....I got lucky! Looks like you need more EE! :p :oops:
Aw I wish, but we are at our max of 4 girlies. Only one EE. We got our EE and Sapphire Gem after we lost our only EE. She laid beautiful blue eggs. Photo is of her egg.
49543073-9299-41C6-9796-B352721C06FD.jpeg

can someone tell me the likelihood of an EE laying brown? I have very little genetic knowledge! Side note- I don’t know her parentage.