Establishing pecking order or is something wrong?

bbecca

Songster
6 Years
May 24, 2016
Oregon
i have 11 wk pullets. 3 barred rocks and 3 buff orp (1 is a Roo) I went away for a week and had our neighbor care for them. All seemed ok but I noticed that theyre behavior has changed. They start putting there head down and running and charging each other. Sometimes they puff out their chests at each other and peck or fight. No blood drawn or injuries but I do see quite a few feathers in the coup. The one barred that seemed to be at the bottom of pecking order since day one, always quiet and kept to herself is now more aggressive then my Roo. When I go to let them out into the run, she's the last to come out but comes flying out, feathers out, squawking and runs and charges the other chickens. Then they all start fighting. This is my first time with chickens so is this normal behavior as they get older? What's happening?

Here's some more info too. The week before I left, I switched their food from starter to grower feed which are little pellet size. I noticed they are not eating this food nearly as quickly as the starter. And every time I come to the coop they run to me like they are starving hungry. So I got some more starter and mixed more in with pellets yesterday and they seem to be eating more. Could they all just not like the new food and are hungry and cranky with each other??

Continue to mix the crumble and pellet feed for a month or so to switch them over. Your birds are starting to grow up and are working out the pecking order. They also sound like they need to burn off some energy. Do they free range? Or have a large run and stuff to do? They are growing up, the size of their area becomes more important the bigger they get so give them lots of room. The feathers in the coop are probably from baby molt which they do a couple times before getting their adult plumage.