Hatching time!-Need advice

Ducklvr

In the Brooder
9 Years
Dec 22, 2010
Okay, so here's the deal. I'm brand new at this. (You may remember that I had an egg explode awhile back, 11 of the other eggs are still going strong though, thanks to a quick disinfecting of the 'bator)
I had dated them all, but (newbie mistake, I know) haven't been marking the air cell. I now have one pipped, I was turning and then one had a crack in it, when I picked it up (it's older, so I thought surely I had somehow cracked it....) it peeped. Do you think I've killed it by turning it the last few days? By the date I wasn't expecting it to hatch...

During the last candling, I saw one egg had a large dip in the air cell, what is that and what do I do about it?

I'm all flustered now, and I'm not sure if I've killed them all!

I will say that these eggs are nothing special at all, mostly backyard mutts. I was doing the hatching for fun, but it's turning out to be much more a bit more stressful than fun at this point.

No you haven't killed it. Just stop turning it now and up your humidity for it to hatch. When you say a large dip, do you mean the air cell comes down farther on one side than the other side? If so, then this is normal, and when you place them for hatching, that lower part should be placed upward as that is the most likely place for the chick to pip in.

@Aphrael Thanks for the reassurance. I guess I just have "first time hatcher jitters". I've already upped the humidity in preparation for hatching that was supposed to be in a few days. That's exactly what I meant about the air cell, I'll reposition now to hopefully help the lil' guy.