Help! Acutely Lethargic, ill-appearing hen making Strange noise

Nmness

Hatching
Sep 27, 2023
~6 month old unknown breed hen
nothing apparently abnormal until yesterday when she began making this strange noise. Has not left the coop last night or today, lethargic. All other hens in normal health. Unsure if any abnormal poop. No abnormal mass in crop area, albeit i am very new to chickens, and had to Google what that was after reading threads today. video link below. With seemingly every breath she is stretching her neck out and making a pathetic tiny squawk. She does not seem well :( how can I help her??

Last edited:
I’m sorry for your sweet hen. She certainly looks like she is struggling to breathe. Does she have any other symptoms that might suggest a respiratory infection perhaps? Are you able to find a vet locally? Have you checked inside her throat just in case something is stuck?

I wish I had more to suggest. It’s horrible when they are having such difficulties.

I’m sorry for your sweet hen. She certainly looks like she is struggling to breathe. Does she have any other symptoms that might suggest a respiratory infection perhaps? Are you able to find a vet locally? Have you checked inside her throat just in case something is stuck?

I wish I had more to suggest. It’s horrible when they are having such difficulties.
I tried to look with a flashlight when her beak is open and I don’t see anything. I don’t know what other “symptoms” to even look for. I gave her some water in a syringe but I don’t want to make her aspirate and don’t even know how to best do that or how much to give. I’m a physician assistant in real life and could help a sick human with almost anything but oh how helpless I feel with this!

Did you check if she's eggbound?