HELP! attack on one of my americanas, hurt wing not sure if broken.

grace..miranda

Hatching
9 Years
Sep 1, 2010
She got attacked yesterday, her wing doesn't look broken but we could see some bone. it looks like the coyote just got a mouthful of her wing. My sister said she put hydrogen peroxide on the wound and she wrapped her in gauze. The hen is drinking but not eating. Her poop looks watery and green. her eyes are clear. i think her nose might be runny. and other then what sounds like wimpering she seems to be acting normal. we kept her inside but I was thinking maybe Ill put the cage we are keeping her in outside so she can hear the flock and so she is more comfortable? It looks like she wants to walk around... does she have any hope of living? What should I do to help her get better? help please this is my first time having chickens!

Last edited:
OK, first thing, take a deep breath.... If the wing is not broken and she is drinking on her own( which is a really good sign.) She has a good chance of pulling through. I would isolate her, give her some water and some special food treats to tempt her and see what happens. If it's not a big gaping hole I would hold off wrapping it until it scabs over.

Sounds like you've made some good decisions. Cleaning the wound and separating the chicken from the others. You'll need to watch for infection. Excessive redness, oozing, etc. There is a product called Blu-Kote, which is available at farm supply stores. It does a good job in helping the healing process. She really needs to eat. Have you tried any treats she likes. Without looking at her I say she has a fair chance for recovery. Assuming your just seeing a little of the white from the bone and not an excessive amount sticking out. Don't put her back until the location has totally healed. Keep us updated at things progress.

Last edited:
Thank you very much! I will look for Blu-Kote at my local farm store. And I'll try to get her to eat.