Help...My favorite girl might be a roo

birdsforbrowns

In the Brooder
6 Years
Feb 19, 2013
Georgia
I am new to having chickens, and I have a hen whose tail feathers are a little longer and have some beautiful irridescence to them...She's an easter egger though so this may be normal. Her comb is a little more red and fleshy than the others as well...and then there's her beard (hahaha). They are about 11 weeks old. Any advice?

hide.gif
I am so sorry but yes you are right....your EE is a rooster!
Note the saddle, sickle and hackles feathering.

Yeah, you've got a sure fire cockerel there!
The hackles are long, the tail is long, and the EE has sickles. Rooster.

EDIT: Also the comb is to large for an eleven week old hen.

Last edited:
Oh no. I was so looking forward to some colored eggs too....I have an aunt who wants a rooster, I guess I can give him to her if he begins to cause issues. Are there downsides, other than the lack of eggs and the morning wake up call, to having roosters? I only have 5 chickens because of space, and was mainly wanting the eggs and some sweet hens!

Well, the only drawbacks for a rooster are
It can be loud, depending on the breed. I have 3 EE roosters, and they aren't loud at all, and they don't crow much.
They can be mean, but EEs are very docile, even the roosters.

5 hens is enough for one roo, just as long as you don't have another roo.

Well, the only drawbacks for a rooster are
It can be loud, depending on the breed. I have 3 EE roosters, and they aren't loud at all, and they don't crow much.
They can be mean, but EEs are very docile, even the roosters.

5 hens is enough for one roo, just as long as you don't have another roo.