HELP.. NEIGHBORS CHICKENS

WalnutTree

Songster
Jun 26, 2020
WA Seattle
Im a small backyard flock owner of 7 happy birds of various breeds. I am still a student, and im known for being a chicken lady. I get a call from another student whos mom recently got more chickens from one of their friends to add to their flock... which they added to their flock WITHOUT Corintining OR doing a health check. I already suspected bad things but nothing could've prepared me for what i was about to see.
 I was requested to come check out possible bumblefoot and a "long nail" in one of the new hens.
This is what i found.
Discretion advised.
20230525_164158.jpg

So severely overgrown spur on this golden laced wyandotte hen. And high stage bumblefoot on both of her feet. Naturally, i check for mites and lice next. These owners didnt even know chickens could get lice or mites.
And I wasnt suprised when i found out she was INFESTED in these things. The poor thing. :hit
20230525_164229.jpg

I begin to check her other hens for these lice (?) And low and behold... almost all of her new hens have bad lice (?) Problems... COVERED in eggs.
20230525_164155.jpg

I have never had any problems with my hens having mite/lice or overgrown anything, so im a bit rusty on the steps.
The wyandotte had it the worst, limping, so i knew i had to do something. Doing some quick article skimming i used dog nail cutters to cut about 1/5 of the spur down to a nub (i was too scared to hit a quick). I soaked her and the second worst hen in a dawn dish soap for 10 min as i didnt have much time. I gently picked off some of the wyandottes egg sacks but there is too many.
BUT THATS NOT THE END FOR THIS POOR WYANDOTTE!
 Upon close inspection she had holes (?) In her comb where the comb has a bit of a bump. It was filled with hard yellow balls of what looked Dried pus. I removed most of them from the largest hole with a small pin needle. Any idea of what it is?
20230525_174218.jpg

Photo after i cleaned most of it out.