Hens Raising Chicks - Observations?

CoopBoots

Crowing
Aug 31, 2022
received_1363135777579206.jpeg

This is my first time having a broody hen in my flock, and it was completely fascinating watching her navigate the entire process of parenthood. I say this with a touch of emotion, as she left her babies to return to the main coop tonight. While I trust her that they are ready, it's just amazing how quickly everything went by. I'm in awe. So I wanted to share her behaviors and their timeline, then maybe hear from you all how similarly or differently your broody girls behaved?

• Broody for first time at around 7 months of age -- December 2022
  • Failed hatch, broke and returned to flock lower in the pecking order from top or second in command spot
  • Broody again (defined as spending a complete night on fake eggs) -- March 9th 2023
  • Gave her real eggs to incubate -- March 11th
  • Successful hatch -- March 31st
  • Remained aggressive/fluffed in demeanor to all flockmates throughout this period, no observed "discipline" of chicks, just aggressive defense and food/shelter/bathing education. She notably resumed a second in command position and chose violence with every hen ASIDE from number one, regardless of whether she was challenged by them or not
  • Resumed mating behaviors willingly and ceased defensive behavior -- April 29th
  • Resumed laying -- April 30th, the very next day!
  • Resumed roosting in adult coop without her brood and continues her second in command position -- May 3rd