Horse had diarreah...what could cause this? **UPDATE**

FLchook

Songster
12 Years
Oct 27, 2007
Orlando, Florida
Hi guys. Im rather new to the world of horses, and have not incountered a new issue. Sugar...my 21 year old mare....has had the runs for several days now. Nothing seems to be bothering her, its just nasty looking. It streaks down her legs...
th.gif

We havent changed her food any, still the same type of hay. She was wormed about 2 weeks ago, could it possibly from that? Should I do something about it, maybe some pepto-bismal <grin>?

Any suggestions would be great!
Thakns,
shannon

Last edited:
Older mare sometimes have problems digesting fiber and it will cause this to happen. I have a 21 yr old Arab that developed the same problem last year. We continue to give her hay, but also give her well soaked beet pulp mixed with her grain twice a day. Within days of starting the beet pulp the diarhea stopped. If I skip a day of the beet pulp it comes back.

I'm not saying you shouldn't get a vet out, you are the one looking at the horse, so only you can judge if it is called for. However, when the vet checked mine when it started, and it did start suddenly like this, she didn't really do much; just told me to make sure she had plenty of water and we discussed the possibility of it being ulcers.

I had two choices, start the $300 twice a month ulcer meds, or try adding easy to digest fiber....I went with the fiber and lucky me...it worked!

Quote:
Everyone elses advice is excellent and I agree if it continues get the vet out to look at her. But is there any chance that she is having her first spring heat cycle? Some of my mares will get very loose stools when they first come into heat. Several days seems a little long for it to continue...but just a thought.

Last edited:
None of my mares have ever gotten the runs from being in heat...

I would call a vet out, too. Especially for an aged horse.