How many hens should I use for my coop???

WVBassFan

Songster
7 Years
Mar 6, 2014
Hello all...I'm new to this so please bear with me :) ... I am in the process of building my coop...My limitations is my yard so this is as big as I can build it... the coop will be 48" x 76" and 48" tall with a sloped roof ... I have it off the ground and I plan to put the feed and water under it and a 2 foot high run 48" wide by 12 foot long... Hopefully explaining it well.... How many birds could this coop have? I don't want them crammed in but I would like as many eggs as I can... I plan to have all hens orphs,RIR, Americanas...etc...etc... The reason I am asking now is I will be building the nesting boxes and would like to know how many I should build... Thanks in advance for any information....

What you are talking about is a 4x6 coop right? How many hens can fit into that depends on your climate. If you have a mild climate ie less than a week of snow a year you could fit 10-15 hens in that house. If you get a lot of snow you will need around 4sq/f of room per bird so 6-7 hens. However your runs is limiting you a lot. Each bird needs a minimum 8-10 sq/f of space in the run. If you are completely limited to that amount of run space you could keep around 5 birds.

I have a 4x4 house that houses 14 birds but my climate is very mild and their runs is about 1850 s/f
Are you serious? 16 sq/f per bird is madness! You are saying the 6x8 shed I have in my yard will only hold 3 chickens![/QUOTE]

No one is arguing how many it will HOLD...you could stuff any number of birds in that space. One is weighing the merits of quality of life in that space. It's basically a jail with nowhere to go and the birds are active and social. It's all in whether you want a jail or a habitat. Sure, you can get by with stuffing any coop and many of the threads I read on here about picking, bullying, CRD, coccidiosis, etc. are the direct result of overstocking in small coops and runs.