How to Butcher a Chicken

I am sure there is a thread about how to cull and pressure can chickens/geese but I am not finding it. I am new to the pressure canner (and new to butchering chickens and geese) and I don't have room in the freezer.
  • How many chickens will I need to butcher to fill a canner with quart or 2 quart jars? I have 8 young roosters I need to process and I would like to can some whole.
  • Do I need to let them 'rest' for 12-24 hours in a brine before canning?
  • How do you debone a whole chicken for canning?
  • I live in Arco Idaho and my elevation is over 5000 feet
Thank you! I am sure there is more I should be asking but I wouldn't know what that would be.

I pressure can almost all of my chicken now. Here is how I do it:

Butcher chickens. (No rest required when pressure canning).
Remove the skin and freeze it to make schmaltz later.
Cut all of the meat off the bone and place it directly into pint jars along with 1/2 tsp of salt. (I can only fit about 14oz of meat into a pint jar but many folks say they can get a full pound/16 oz in them).
Remove bubbles from the jar if possible.
Clean rim of jar w vinegar or really hot water and close up.
Place jars into pressure canner and can according to your manual.
I can fit 1 old laying hen into a pint jar. A big rooster can take several jars.

Here is the webste: (I raw pack as it is the quickest and easiest.) https://nchfp.uga.edu/how/can_05/chicken_rabbit.html

After that I take everything left over (backs, necks, feet, bones, etc) roast it in the oven, break the bones into pieces, and pressure cook it in the pressure canner for about 2 hours with water. Then Strain it, chill it, defat it overnighight and then pressure can the chicken stock in quart jars. I make about 1 quart of stock per chicken. (Since my pressure canner/cooker can hold 7 quart jars I use 7 quarts of water and about 6 chicken carcasses in making the stock).