Inexpensive coop litter options

Pics

LynnTXchickenmom

Chirping
Aug 22, 2022
Newbie here!
My son designed our coop with one wall that opens so we can sweep out the bedding easily into a wheelbarrow and cart to the compost heap. We were planning to put 3 in. of litter down in our 5 ft. x 8 ft. coop and sweep it out once a week. That could prove expensive though: It costs $12 for 10 cu. ft. bag of pine shavings at our local feed store, so that's $48/month in litter if we really need to discard it every week. (TSC is comparable, but I have to drive 30 min. to the nearest location. The local feed store does not sell chopped straw; I'd have to drive to TSC to buy that.) I looked up other options and read online about people using shredded paper, hardwood chips obtained from a tree service, or shredded leaves. (We have lots of leaves year-round from two huge live oaks in our front yard.) Thoughts on any of these? Sand won't work with the current design of the coop, though we could redo that some if sand is the best option. Or am I overestimating how often we will need to change the litter? $12 every 3-4 weeks is a lot better than every week!
--Deep litter method: I have read about it, but as is our coop is not designed for it. We could modify the coop so that 12 in. of bedding could be held in it. I'm worried it would be way too hot in N. TX where we live. Our temps can be over 90 three seasons of the year and up to 110 in the summer.
--Sand is cooler--Anyone use it on the wood floor of a coop raised off the ground?
Thanks, everyone.

You don’t need to swap out the bedding every week. If you clean up the poop daily (ish) the bedding should last you around a month, maybe longer, depending on the size of your flock.