Is the DE at Azure Standard Food Grade?

prodds

In the Brooder
8 Years
May 6, 2011
I'm very new to this (won't even have my first chicks for another 2 weeks). I wanted to try the Deep Litter Method in the coop, which requires Food Grade DE. I've seen on here that several people get their DE from Azure Standard. I just talked to the rep on the phone and asked if it was food grade. He said (basically what the website says) that it meets the standards by the FDA as a "filter aid in food processing." So....what does that mean? The pricing from this company seems very good (which kind of makes me nervous). For those of you out there familiar with it - is it food grade? This company sells natural and organic stuff, so I don't see why they would sell the DE for pools, I'm just a nervous newbie! Thanks!
smile.png

P.S. - I'm not looking to start a discussion for or against the use of DE - seems there are plenty of those threads already. I would just like an answer from those of you that use Azure Standard. Thank you all - you've been a great source of info so far!