Is there no store bought filter

babybaits

In the Brooder
May 14, 2022
My son has 7 (soon to be 3) ducks that he built a pond for. As usual, he got himself into something without doing research so now it's my job to try to figure out a plan to filter it. From what I've seen, there doesn't seem to be a store bought filter that will do the job well enough. I told him it seems that pumping the water out (he already has a good pump) every so often seems to be the best solution. Am I right and how often should he do it? I'm not good at sizing something so I'll post a pic. About half of it (maybe a little less) goes down about 2 feet. The other half gets more shallow.

Attachments

• 20230523_094824.jpg
    20230523_094824.jpg
    520.7 KB · Views: 57
Here is what I have seen some have success with and what I am currently using. I'm using the waterfall box to add air exchange and put lava rock in the net bag of the waterfall box as additional filtration

View attachment 3515723

View attachment 3515724
View attachment 3515728
Thank you so much, but I do have a few questions if you don't mind. How many ducks do you have? How often do you need to clean it? And do you only have to rinse off the filter(s)? In other words, you don't need to keep buying replacements?

Note: Not all of the message originally showed so I just noticed that's its more than 1 unit so I'm back to thinking the cheapest way to go is removing the water

Last edited: