Livestock guardian dogs

Pics

justmom

Hatching
7 Years
Jan 9, 2013
Northwestern Missouri
Newbie here. Anybody have any experience with livestock guardian dogs for their birds? Have a huge problem in the springtime with Raccoons and Foxes and year-round with straying dogs. Wondering if a Great Pyrenees would be the way to go.

this is just for simple predators like bears, bobcats, foxes, fishers, coyotes, hawks, stray dogs I think 1 good dog is enough if its a really good dog from good bloodlines

but if you have pumas and wolves u will need a pack to deter them if they are serious

Because this will happen with large predators like a wolf or a puma will make quick work if they are dead serious

Note the breed is a great pyr which is usually the LGD that often is victimized by predators. If you want a serious dog do your research and get something that can handle a stronger predator. This dog was killed by a single wolf.

Last edited:
First and foremost, do you really need an LGD? And are you prepared for the responsibility that goes with ownership of one?

http://spanishmastiff.blogspot.com/2016/11/do-you-really-need-livestock-guardian.html

On the topic of breed selection, I see far too many people getting into more than they can chew, fad buying breeds for their exotic appeal, while totally unprepared for owning a huge dog that in some breeds can have a complex, sharp, antisocial temperament and are too aggressive.

http://spanishmastiff.blogspot.com/2016/02/more-aggressive-lgd-breeds-is-that-what.html

and

http://spanishmastiff.blogspot.com/2017/02/yourlivestock-guardian-dog-liability-or.html