Grey Gables

Songster
Dec 30, 2019
Ohio
Hi!

Since I'm new to chickens, I figure it would be fun to chronicle my journey. :) I mentioned this in my introduction post, but I have been planning on getting chicks for over a year now. Over the last year, I've read up on all kinds of things, hopefully better preparing myself for this endeavor! I've been building my chicken first aid kit and researching what works and doesn't work for people (bedding, coop designs, runs, feeders, waterers, etc). A little overkill, yes, but that's how I roll. I ended up designing my coop and run myself, and it's currently being built.

My chicks hatched Friday (2/21/20) and I picked them up Saturday (2/22/20). I was initially getting a Rhode Island Red, Black Australorp, Easter Egger, and a Lavender Orpington but the Orpingtons didn't hatch well so the breeder substituted a Blue Cochin. I was a little bummed at first, but now I'm so glad it worked out this way because the little Blue Cochin is my absolute favorite. She's so sweet and loves to be held. When I put my hand down flat, she climbs into my hand.

The car trip home. Less than a day old here!
full
full
full

Now to unveil my inner dork (although you may have picked up on the dork factor when I mentioned I prepared for chicks for a year)... I know most people pick their chickens based on egg color, or maybe because they want a cool looking breed. I decided at some point I wanted to use an Anne of Green Gables theme and name all my chicks after characters from the books/movies. So I picked my chicken breeds based on how I thought they matched up with the names I wanted to use, ha. 🤓

Little Marilla, the first day we got the chicks.
full

Anne = Rhode Island Red
Diana = Black Australorp
Ruby = Easter Egger
Marilla = Blue Cochin

And they will live in a grey coop, hence my BYC name, Grey Gables.