My Silies can't see!

EmmaG32

Hatching
Sep 14, 2017
Hiya, looking for some guidance or help with my new flock as I am new to chicken wrangling!

I have a little flock of 4 chicks; 2 pekins and 2 silkies, they will be 16 weeks' old this week and as they have been reared together they get along just fine. Surprisingly it'S the tiny pekins that run the show!

I have a raised coop and when they first arrived they didn't quite understand the ramp & hen house but after a few nights of encouraging them up the ramp, the pekins have grasped the bed time routine... the silkies not so much... I have tried putting corn on the ramp to lead them up (failed so far) but I'm keeping my fingers crossed that they get the hang of it soon.

My request for help is with my beautiful silkies; apart from them not grasping the ramp, they are also last to the feeder and will sometimes have a few 'missed' packs before getting the pellet or any scattered treats, when they are given the run of the garden (every evening) they don't seem to notice the run door open until encouraged out.

I'm not sure if its just because they are still young and slow to learn, or whether it might be due to poor visibility as they both have particularly fluffy crests! I've tried gently brushing the feathers away from their eyes and it seems to help for a short while. I don't plan on showing them, but I'm wondering whether I should let them work it out for themselves or try to trim the crest or perhaps a hair bobble?!

thanks in advance for any help! EmmaG

This isn't the best photo, but its all that I've got with me at the moment.
They can't seem to see forwards or to the sides..

Attachments

• FullSizeRender.jpg
    FullSizeRender.jpg
    180.8 KB · Views: 12
I recently got 3 black silkies of indeterminate age (but probably pretty young, about 18-20 weeks).