Not sure what's gone wrong... A few questions...

Jrose

Songster
8 Years
Jun 6, 2013
This is my first time trying to incubate. I've got a LG9200 with no add-ons. Just a still-air styrofoam incubator.

Tomorrow is lockdown. I've got 15 eggs in. I candled them at day 7 and everyone had veins. It was very difficult as the shells are dark and my flashlight was crappy. I JUST got a high-enough powered light to penetrate the shells today. So I candled tonight.

- 5 of the eggs have no apparent veins, and the air pockets are on the fat end of the shell. Oddly these eggs were cooler than the others. I'm assuming these are bad? Should I toss them? What caused the air pocket to be on that end? They're all pointy-end-down in cartons, I raise one side then the other and gently roll the eggs towards the decline in their slots.
- 3 other eggs had small air pockets that weren't smooth. The line of clarity was jagged and uneven. All three are my three smallest eggs in there. I see veins, but didn't detect obvious movement. Are these bad? Should I remove them?

The others looked as I think they should with lots of movement.
I've had CRAZY temp fluctuations in the incubator. If my house increases or decreases in temp even just a tiny bit the bator get way out of whack. I've got it wrapped in a thick towel in a quiet corner of the non-drafty bathroom to try and stabilize it. We had a few freakishly warm days and my house was warmer than usual (no AC to regulate), and I checked the incubator- it was at 106! No idea how long it'd been that way! I just kept turning it down and down and down and fought with it for several days. I just got it evened out again on Thursday. So happy to see half the batch is still with me...

Another question: I put the eggs in at 9pm originally. Does lockdown tomorrow 'officially' start at 9pm tomorrow? Or do I start the morning not touching the incubator? Or does it matter? Should I be on the safe side since temps have been whacky and not touch it again?