Paralysed chicken - to bathe or not to bathe

SarahHalliday

In the Brooder
May 22, 2019
Hello all!

First I must say that I’ve been using backyard chickens for YEARS but this is my first time posting. Such a helpful forum, I’m so appreciative of all of you.

A few days ago, I noticed that my polish girl was struggling to walk, kinda flopping around the garden. When she was a chick, it took her a couple of weeks to get mobile. She would sit around in her haunches but still ate and drank normally so we just let her do her thing but didn’t expect she would be long for this world.

One day, she just learned how to chicken! And has been a happy healthy little bird up until now.

First, I separated her from the rest of the flock, in case she was contagious, and gave her a chicken spa day: an Epsom salt bath, olive oily scrambled eggs, which she ate enthusiastically.

In the morning she was even worse.

I took her to the vet - first ever chicken to get that special treatment! Normally I’m pretty good at figuring out what they need.

The vet said she might have an ear infection and gave her some medicine. After giving her the medicine and letting her sleep on it, she seemed even worse, only really able to move her beak and eyes. She can move about when she needs to poop and I’ve been force feeding her the rickets diet with her medicine crushed into it, plus hourly syringes of water.

My question is, she’s getting pretty poopy not being able to stand and all. Should I bathe her? Or give her a sponge bath? Or wait to see if she regains mobility first?

I’ve scoured every forum so I don’t expect to receive any indication as to what might be wrong with her, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I kinda don’t think it’s Mareks because she’s been through this before and everyone else is fine. Might just be a knock to her little polish vaulted skull, which I think the ear infection medication might help with.

Thank you all for reading and for any advice!

Xx.