Pin Feathers

jaku

Songster
12 Years
Jan 13, 2008
Howard City, Michigan
I hate pin feathers! I plucked this weekend and it took FOREVER to get them all. It doesn't seem like I would need pliers, tweezers, and 45 minutes to pluck a chicken. I scalded for 30-40 seconds in 130 degree water. What am I missing?

Hi Jaku--I am new to this as well. I butchered 12 of my chickens last week over a period of 5 days. It too took me FOREVER to pluck them. I tried scalding with 130 degree water but found the 150 degree water to work much better--not perfect but better. I took a group of 8 birds to a local guy and he dipped them in water that was about 180 degrees and the feathers just stripped right off for him. I didn't do that since I was worried about cooking the meat but he just had them in and out real quick.

I got most of the feathers off, did the evisceration, a good cleansing squirt and into the cooler. I later picked off the pin feathers after they were cool and I wasn't so tired.

I am going to write up some "chicken butchering" notes to myself for the next time I do this so I don't forget!

Kelly

You need a propane torch, like the kind chef's use to make creme brulee or the kind plumber's use with a trigger on it. You just quickly pass the flame over the skin and they burn up. I find it works very well even after you have chilled them a couple hours, as the feathers are easier to see then.

I am one of those folks who uses needle nose pliers or rubber gloves to rub the feathers off. Seems to work just fine for me. I would like to try the torch method on our next batch of chickens when we butcher tomorrow.

Quote:
For the pin feathers or the hairs? Doesn't seem like the torch would get the deep feather shafts, unless I'm confused about what pin feathers actually are???