Raising chicks in the hen house

Kchicken1988

In the Brooder
Sep 15, 2019
Hello
So I recently got rid of my rooster.
I want some baby chicks. My hens have their eggs still from him ( got rid of him today ) and one is broody and sitting on them.
Can I let them hatch and stay in the Home with the other hens? Or do I have to take them out and put them in their own brooder and introduce them back to the hens when they are older ?

i would just find it so much easier if the hens would just help take care of them.
I’m still new to this. I’ve had my hens for one year.

Leave them with their mother. Don't separate the chicks from the hen that broods them. She will take care of them and protect them from the other hens if they try to pick on the chicks. The hens who aren't brooding the eggs generally won't help raise them.

Some people do recommend separating the broody hen with the eggs until after the chicks hatch and are a few days old, and then reintroducing the hen with her babies to the main coop. Others say it is fine to leave the hen in her original nest with the other hens.

I leave the broody to get on with it, in the coop with the rest of the flock. I have had 5 successful experiences, with no issues, during or after (if you separate, you'll have to integrate again after; if you leave them be, the chicks are integrated from the start). Good luck! Having a broody and chicks is one of my favorite aspects of chicken keeping. (You are likely to get some males in the hatch BTW.)