Rooster acting like he is drunk - please help.

peep2

Hatching
8 Years
Jun 17, 2011
Hello,

I am new to all this but I am hopeful that someone can assist. I have a rooster that I believe is not quite a year old. He has been fine up until approximately 3 weeks ago when it appeared that he was losing his sense of balance. It has not gotten any worse but hasn't gotten any better. He acts like he may be drunk. I have checked his spurs, his legs, his feet and all seem to be fine but it is as if he can't stand. He is eating still, drinking water and crows with delight each and every morning. We are now keeping him away from the others in the coop as it seemed that he was being picked on by another rooster and hen. I have tried looking on google with regards to his symptoms but nothing seems to have assisted. I am really hopeful that someone here may have experienced something similar and can offer a few thoughts on what can be done for the rooster - who we have affectionately named 'Toombs'.
Thank you.

it happened to me, i think the heat did it, it was a little rescue chicken, and she started to get better, but i had a deep water bowl and she fell over in it after i had her for about a month, and i found her dead in the bowl when i got home

Thank you for your reply and sorry to hear of your loss. I don't believe it is the heat at this stage as it has been cool weather, but not cold - our winters here are fairly mild. The rooster continues to just sit in the laundry basket and looks quite lively but just can't get or maintain balance. He is still drinking and eating but I wish I knew how else I could help him.

The "drunk" chicken has been posted lots of time, but not so much recently.
idunno.gif
Sometimes it can be helped with vitamins & electrolytes. You should be able to find them at the feedstore. I've also seen pedialite without iron posted, sometimes diluted sometimes not.

Good luck

Imp