See my composting chicken run

TheFatBlueCat

Crowing
Oct 16, 2021
New Zealand
My Coop
My Coop
I thought you all might enjoy this video I made on how and why to use a composting run. Or you might just want to meet me and see some of my flock on camera! I've been using a deep mulched composting run for quite a few years now and I have to say, I love it. My flock does full-time free range my entire back yard, so they're not always in the run but it's the area where they eat and spend the most time hanging out. Plus it's the zone where they sleep. My garden has really thrived the last couple of years now I have essentially unlimited compost for my needs. The one challenge I am having with it now I've had it established for so long, is it is SO biologically active it really burns through the carbon materials. The leaves you see in the video are half decomposed already and that's only about a month ago! I'm thinking of ordering in a big pile of bark mulch so I can keep topping it up as needed, which is often now. The positive of that is it makes so so so much compost!

I've got questions, lots.:D
I'm heading in this direction. Unfortunately the run I'm dealing with had been neglected for many years and overstocked. Rather than take stuff out of the run and dig it over all sorts of crap had been chucked in it. I'm still digging out plastic, large rocks, bits of concrete, bits of metal etc etc. You may have read a bit about the run condition on my thread.
I've deep dug most of the run now. The flooding in heavy rain has now stopped and the dug soil drains almsot as well as the ground outside the run. I want the chickens to live on natural ground.
Anyway, I'm almost ready to start adding organic matter to the run.
Currently what grows in it are a few hardy weeds around the edges, stinging nettles mainly.
My first question is do you, or did you have to weed your run?