We are Building a new chicken house

Sandyd

Songster
11 Years
Sep 12, 2012

24 X 16 Chicken house

Concrete floor with insulation under it, bottom drain and a place to sit a automatic waterer

I am new at pics and posting them. Insulation board I am cutting to go between the 2 x 6 frame work. I have two large vents up at the top to put in yet, inside sheeting made out of flat tin with little holes in it taken from a old bin. Insulation Board was given to us by a contractor from a old building they tore down. Windows were free from my son as seconds

side view and below is the old chicken house I have been using for 22+ years that was old when we got it. I am so excited and have lots of work to do yet before the snow flys. DH is in the fields now so it will be slow going for me. It is not air tight as I am not great on cutting the insulation board but it will help.

I have always had a wooden floor in my other chicken house. It has slowly started falling apart and I had a horrible time with mice and rats chewing holes in the house. I don't like to use bait as we have Jack Russels and other small animals around so my husband decided to build me a mouse proof dwelling with if that is at all possible, so he went with a concrete floor.
I have been reading and reading on what everyone has done with their knowledge and am wanting to make the new chicken house easy to maintain. I know that the new house is tall but that is the way hubby wanted it so there would be plenty of air and I would have room for storage.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks
Sandy

I am so overwhelmed right now. Are we ever going to get this chicken house done.....