Bielefelder Leg Issues???

OzarkChooks

Songster
Jul 12, 2021
I have 3 Bielefelder cockerels. 2 of them seem to have messed up legs and have been that way since chicks. They look down and almost stare at their legs when walking sometimes. They so seem to completely lack proper balance and have fallen over multiple times when trying to run. This is my first time with the breed so I want to prevent this in the future if I can. They are very large birds and I'm wondering if they grew too fast? Has anyone else had similar issues with Bielefelders?

I have 3 Bielefelder cockerels. 2 of them seem to have messed up legs and have been that way since chicks. They look down and almost stare at their legs when walking sometimes. They so seem to completely lack proper balance and have fallen over multiple times when trying to run. This is my first time with the breed so I want to prevent this in the future if I can. They are very large birds and I'm wondering if they grew too fast? Has anyone else had similar issues with Bielefelders?
I haven't had any issues with any of my flock of Bielefelder's. Where did you get yours from?

I don't have Bielefelders, so I can't say if it's a breed-specific thing, but it sounds like vitamin deficiency. I've read that large dual purpose birds can have leg problems, though.

Did you hatch them or get them from a breeder/hatchery?

I got all 3 from Greenfire Farms. I had hoped they would be better quality from there. We have about 10 Bielefelder pullets from Cackle and none of them have these issues. Although none of them are as big as these guys. They have been eating All Flock and are about 5 months old. They also free range. Should they be on a different feed?