Chick might be sick?

Roslyn

In the Brooder
8 Years
May 14, 2011
Cle Elum, WA
This is urgent! I really need some advice really quick.

I recently bought twelve chicks, it's my first time raising them and we've made sure that every possible aspect of their enclosure is perfect. They're all about two days old.

They all seem to be very healthy, except for one. She's an Ameraucana and a very pretty girl; we would hate to lose her.

I've been observing the chicks and this one seems to like being held, she'll sleep in your hand and won't want to leave it when you set her back in the brooder; the problem being that she'll kind of walk around in a logy way and her breathing pattern seems to be heavier than the other chicks. She'll stay in one place and hang her head, but won't settle down to sleep or anything, and kind of ignores it when the other chicks peck at her.

We were originally concerned that she was pasting up, but when we checked, she wasn't. We even gave her vent a little wash and nothing seems to work. Help, please?

Edit:
She also has a very strange trill that she makes when the other chicks come close, and a unique peep. If that helps at all.

Last edited:
I don't know what to say other than keep an eye on her. Is she warm enough? Maybe someone else can chime in with other suggestions??

Oh, and BTW,
frow.gif
and
welcome-byc.gif
from SE Pa.

I had one too..and still do. Mine waddles like a duck..something wrong with her leg, but I can't find what. I pay a lot of attention to her and I separated her with just 2 small, docile friends and placed the others in a separate brooder. I wake up everyday to find she is still doing her thang..making those noises, staying under the light to keep warm..waddling like a duck..but she eats, drinks, poops..and does her best. She is still much smaller than most, but about the size of the others I left with her. I also give her sav a chick in her water..that has seemed to help a lot.

welcome-byc.gif